tablekasce.blogg.se

Create mac os install usb for older macbook pro
Create mac os install usb for older macbook pro











create mac os install usb for older macbook pro
  1. #Create mac os install usb for older macbook pro Pc
  2. #Create mac os install usb for older macbook pro windows

Using the macOS Disk Utility I formatted the new drive but OS installation kept failing after several hours with a cryptic message about there not being enough disk space (SSD is 250GB). With a functional drive plugged in to the Mac, it is WAY easier to get to recovery (previously it would stall for several minutes with no feedback then ignore the keyboard shortcuts and display the prohibitory symbol).

#Create mac os install usb for older macbook pro windows

I forgot to wipe the Windows recovery partition so the Mac booted into Windows. I took an SSD from an old Windows machine, wiped it, and put it in the Mac to install macOS. It was an adventure getting it sorted out. The problem turned out to be a bad hard drive. All of those shortcuts act like I'm not pressing any keys (boot, logo, progressbar, prohibitory sign).Ĭan anyone give me an idea of what else I can try? I have tried booting into recovery, booting into internet recovery, and several other keyboard shortcuts, resetting the PRAM, NVRAM. I got the bright idea to plug in a bootable USB but without a working OSX computer and no way to get access to the Apple app store (they block it on non-OSX computers) I have no way of downloading High Sierra. If I choose either, it shows the Apple logo and a progress bar, then after a minute, the prohibitory symbol.

create mac os install usb for older macbook pro

One is "Macintosh HD" and the other is "Recovery-10.13.6". It shows two drives (probably partitions). I have tried everything I can try to fix it but none of the startup hotkeys work except Option (choose boot drive). From what I've read it means that it can't find a valid OS.

#Create mac os install usb for older macbook pro Pc

I am a PC guy (ok to throw tomatoes) and a friend of mine's laptop shows prohibitory sign on boot (after showing Apple logo and progress bar).













Create mac os install usb for older macbook pro